Reflections: 13 Years to Live, Not Enough Time to Write

Posted: September 3, 2012 in Uncategorized

Most people do some type of reflective writing after a substantial life change…

Of course, people who blog do reflective writing after going grocery shopping, so I guess that isn’t all that special 🙂

I plan on blogging more frequently, and this seems an appropriate thing to begin with. Obviously, Wildwood Ranch has been used by the Lord to play a massive role in my life and in the life of my family. It’s a good time to be reflective on the lessons that the Lord has brought to my attention… and the fun that was had 😉

-I started out cleaning toilets and I ended cleaning toilets… that kind of stuff helps you stay grounded. By the end of my time, I could hire or fire, I could cast a vision for thousands of kids and 40-50 staff per summer, I could speak to whatever number of people, I could witness or disciple… and if a toilet needed to be cleaned, I could still do that too.

-Fellowship, community, and accountability are FAR more involved than what most are comfortable doing. You literally share your life with brothers and sisters. It really isn’t done that well right now.

-“You get what you inspect, not what you expect” -Dave Long. Nuff’ said…

-Don’t bring white Air Force One’s to camp… or any white clothes… regardless of if you are a camper or on staff… just don’t… any camp, seriously…

-I learned a lot about domains, areas… I stay in mine unless someone invites me into their’s. I wont speak for another person’s area/domain. I’m not talking about life… I’m talking about work. Hurt feelings, feelings of inadequacy, and controlling mindsets can be avoided if more people understood that principle.

-Unity is beautiful… disunity is not beautiful… don’t let the simplicity of that statement cause you to underestimate it.

-Your boss can be your mentor and/or friend… it just takes someone who knows what the crap they are doing.

-I’m not city anymore… this breaks my heart… The more kids came to camp and I listened to them talk, the more this became real to me. If you are from this area and you consider me urban, keep in mind that you are from this area, and that brings me no comfort…

-I hate horses…

-I hate dirt…

-I love high ropes and the lessons that accompany it.

-I love interns… a lot.

-Speaking of interns… one of my favorite times of every week was Bible Study. If you have the chance to be part of a Bible Study, do it. Tuesdays at 4pm will always bring a smile to my face.

-Working with inner city Detroit kids has helped me appreciate my African American heritage even more. So many don’t understand/care what our ancestors faced… the realization of that has caused me to look into my history even more. Very thankful for that. Go learn about your heritage!

-I’m sorry if naming names offends you, but DaveO and Mandi, Jason Ostroski, Rebecca (Tate) Harvin, Jen Huber, Kylene Compaan, Mike Barnhart, Mark Ostroski, Annie Byrne, and Adam and Angie Schultz… we bled together, we laughed together, we cried together, we changed people’s lives together… you were vital to my spiritual formation… you are brothers and sisters to me. I hope everyone has people in their lives like these people. (Also, just ask these people to be in your life!)

-I could not have accomplished anything at Wildwood the past 5 years without my wife, Faye. Love, your sacrifice and support are hands down the most amazing thing I’ve ever seen. You’re a keeper, Mrs Jones 😉

-Speaking of spouses and family in ministry… they are first priority.. done deal… seriously. There is so much more I want to say concerning this, but wisdom will prevail 🙂

-I just want to take this time to sincerely thank The Freedom Center, Ore Creek, and Ward Presbyterian (among other places)… churches that have come alongside Wildwood and done some cool stuff for it. Folks like you are so needed!

-I know I get poked fun of at this, but I’m tired. For the past 13 years of my life, 3-4 months of that time has been spent working at least 16 hours a day. I’m walking proof (as are SO many others) that the Lord gives physical strength, but dang it, I’m tired.

-I’ve had the privilege of seeing people who don’t know Jesus know Him and people who know Jesus love Him even more! Both are so beautiful…

-If you have the chance to put in a summer at Wildwood Ranch or volunteer there, do it… God will use it to rock your world. There are many who are proof of this.

There is infinitely more that I could write, but I’ll leave it at this. I’m thankful for my time at Wildwood… I can’t even begin to express how thankful I am. It’s prepared me for whatever the Lord has next for us. The lessons and memories we take away from Wildwood are part of what makes us excited for whatever is next.

Hope this blesses you as it has me!

Comments
  1. Margie says:

    Thanks for sharing this!
    True community is found at WWR. I am forever changed and still find myself searching for that in my life outside of camp. We’re getting there, but you can’t force people to do life together (unless you serve/work a summer at wildwood!).
    Enjoy the great adventure ahead of you and press into real community wherever you’re planted.

Leave a Reply

