I Did It MYYY Wayyyy

Posted: September 16, 2012 in Uncategorized

I’ve been thinking about church service lately… not the large group meeting, but people serving in the different areas of the local church.

Faye and I recently took over the Route 66 Clubhouse at The Freedom Center. We will be serving the 3-5 year olds at the church… which means, we’ll also be serving parents by giving them an opportunity to be in a church service and focus on what is being taught (Anyone who is a parent will understand that!).

Granted, its only been 2 Sundays, but I see people come in here to serve, sometimes at both services, and I’m impressed at the dedication and love that is shown!

A few weeks ago, Faye and I sat down with Pastor Jim and Dena with plans on talking about the new Young Adult Ministry (which we are also heading up… October 15th @ 7pm @ the church… be ready to encounter the Father!!). As the meeting date approached, the Lord asked me a simple question…

“Why are you going into this meeting to tell these leaders the way YOU are going to serve them?”

I’m sorry… come again?

The Lord was asking me why I was going to my pastor and telling him the way I was going to serve his flock. I needed to go to him and ask… “Where do you need me?”

***Disclaimer***

Ok, time out… I, in no way, shape, or form, am speaking against a person’s passions. I just want to make that clear to everyone

Time in…

What I feel the Lord was saying is that far too often, I allow what I like, what I feel comfortable in, to dictate where I where will serve other Believers.

“I don’t feel comfortable around 3-5 year olds, so, despite the need for solid people to begin to feed into our young ones, I’m not doing that.”

“I know the church is asking for people to help with parking, but I don’t really want to do that.”

“Honestly, I just want to come on Sundays… I don’t really care to make time for much else”

I understand this mindset… I really do… but that doesn’t make it right. Far too often, I’ve fallen into the mindset that where I need to serve is what I like… and I’m not sure that’s true.

See, I like The Freedom Center. Shootdang, I love The Freedom Center. Aside from thinking everyone here was going to hell for the first 5 minutes of my time here, I’ve loved this place and these people for a while now. That means I love it’s young adults… and its youth… and its children… and, I guess, its adults 😉 If I love this place, I NEED to be open to serving it on IT’S terms, not my own terms.

If you said to your husband/wife, “Look, I understand that you would like to be loved this way, but I have a better idea…” What if someone said this to you? Neither would go over too well. This involves a current, active listening to the Father, not a leaning on our own understanding.

Maybe it’s just me… I don’t know.

My challenge to you, as it has been to myself… something to think about… wherever you are, whatever you are doing, go find out what the need is, not conform to what your want is.

Leave a Reply

