Everything?

Posted: October 6, 2012 in Uncategorized

This Men’s Conference has been sweet… seriously… if you are in the Fenton area, and you are a dude… you’ve missed something cool if you haven’t come.

*A guy’s eardrum burst and doctors said he’d never hear again… yeah, he hears now 🙂

*Scars and wounds were healed in men’s lives.

*200 men stood at the front of the main auditorium worshiping the Father.

*Men had experiences with the Holy Spirit!!

*We practiced prayer over each other… people are awkward during prayer because we don’t do it enough.

*People are genuinely excited about the Young Adult Ministry starting back up… which was cool to hear at a Men’s Conference. (That is the truth, but it’s also a shameless plug… Monday, Oct 15… 7p… The Freedom Center)

*I met a guy named Shawn who has a life threatening job… he actually wants to be in some type of addiction ministry… I didn’t have the heart to tell him that wasn’t much safer 🙂

*Did I mention 200 men at the front worshiping!?

…and that’s where I want to camp for this writing.

“Holy, holy, holy is the Lord God Almighty. Who was and is and is to come. With all creation I sing praise to the King of Kings. You are my everything, and I will adore You!”

We sang this…

You are my everything…

That is an incredibly strong phrase. It is not meant to be taken lightly.

I stopped for a moment as I sang those words… I looked around… I saw a really cool sight. Men, eyes closed, arms raised. Some were standing. Some were kneeling. Some were on their face… but they were worshiping hard!

It’s nice to put forth that “effort” (strange word maybe, not sure it’s right for that) in that time… however, everything denotes all times.

Everything.

I just can’t let go of that.. even as I write this, the weight of that word is so heavy on me.

Compartmentalization is a pretty common thing. That means that we place things into specific categories. When we do that in life, work is kept at work… church is kept at church… home is kept at home… things are placed in safe areas and only safe subjects are addressed in those areas.

But that isn’t what everything denotes… everything breaks down the walls of compartmentalism in our lives.

If you have sung/spoke those words… baby, you’re on the hook.

Declaring that God is our everything has incredible weight behind it… however, it has no more weight behind it than when you and I declared that He is the MASTER of our lives.

…which just so happened to be what we did when we received salvation (Really take a minute and think about that).

It’s time we stopped keeping Jesus in the safe areas. It was really cool to see and be a part of men worshiping like that… it’s easier to do that when that is the expectation put forth in the place you are at. I hope we all walk away from this time living in all areas as enthusiastically as we worshiped inside a church building.

Everything demands that…

Leave a Reply

