30 Day Blogrimage: Days 14-15… The Disconnect

Posted: March 18, 2013 in blogrimage, Uncategorized

I don’t really have anything to say about myself… the fast is going well, and I’m really stuck on how to continue this intimacy with the Father… how to continue being sensitized to the Holy Spirit when I’m done. Thanks for all the support and prayer!

I’m sitting here in Goodrich High School a few miles away from Fenton listening to a presentation called Chasing the Dragon. It’s a drug awareness program that involves an organization called Community Parent and the Genessee County Sheriff’s Office.

I’m listening to 2 fathers give their testimony about literally watching their daughters die of drug overdoses… they were 17 and 19.

I’m listening to a sheriff’s deputy talk about how her sister was robbed and killed because of her addiction to Heroin… which is a big problem in Genessee County… and probably where you are too, you just don’t know it.

I think the predominant thought with this and other things of this type is “That’s sad.” but I think there is a disconnect of sorts, but no one ever thinks it’ll be them.

Sexual addiction.

Financial issues.

The wrong guy or girl.

Doesn’t matter… there are SO many people who have gone before us in so many different areas of life…

yet…

there remains that disconnect.

“It’ll never be me”

I don’t know how to answer the question of how to help people see. I don’t know how to help people understand that folks that walked before us have so much wisdom in areas that we want to walk in.

About a year ago, I had a bunch of middle aged men pray over me. They gave something to me… the Holy Spirit… they gave me what they had.

I realized that day in December of 2012 that I needed to heed the wisdom and advice of those who had walked before me.

I don’t know where many of you are at that are reading this today, but understand this… there have been many times in my life where I wondered how I got here. It can be you… it can be you or I at any time. That’s the danger of walking on the edge… you can fall off at any time.

Find people who have walked successfully in this life… find them and make them show you how.

Leave a Reply

